What happens in:
Schools & Clubs
The Megafinal

Leek Megafinal
2015 Honours
2014 Honours
2013 Honours
2012 Honours
2011 Honours
2010 Honours
2009 Honours
2008 Honours

Gigafinal Honours
2013 Honours
2012 Honours
2011 Honours
2010 Honours
2009 Honours

Terafinal Honours
UK Chess Challenge website


If you have any questions about the UK Chess Challenge in the Staffordshire area, please contact

Traci Whitfield.

Email: email.
Tel: 01782 623361
(before 9 pm please)

Getting started in the UK Chess Challenge


The UK Chess Challenge is run over four stages and these pages are here to give you an idea of what to expect if you've never taken part before.

Players in the under 12 section and above automatically qualify for a Megafinal but can still compete in these tournaments. This is new for 2017 and has been introduced to help encourage those in secondary school to continue playing chess. If you are not already familiar with how it is organised, you may like to check the Introduction page.

Schools and junior clubs

The UK Chess Challenge starts in your own school or chess club. You play 7 games of chess. The idea is that you play about one game a week. After each game has finished, you score

  • 3 points if you won,
  • 2 points if you drew, or
  • 1 point if you were beaten.
  • Unfortunately, you don’t get any points for a game if you are absent.
  • If there are an odd number of players in your competition, and you don’t have to play in one of the rounds (this is called a bye), you score 3 points.

There are several prizes you can win: The more points you score the better your prize.

If you play well, you go on to the next stage — the Megafinal.

Who goes through to the Megafinal?

You will qualify for the Megafinal if:

  • You are the top scoring boy or girl in your age group — You must have played at least 5 of your 7 games, or
  • You score at least 17 points.

If there is a tie for a qualifying place in any age group, all the tied players qualify for the Megafinal.

Now, let´s explore what happens when you get to the Megafinal

Age groups

The age groups in the UK Chess Challenge competition are:

Under 7, Under 8, Under 9, Under 10, Under 11, Under 12, Under 13, Under 14, Under 15, Under 16, Under 17 and Under 18.

For 2009, your age will be based on how old you are at midnight at the end of 31st August, 2008.

UK Challenge

The UK Chess Challenge website states that it is the largest chess competition in the world.

Full details about the tournament can be found on the UK Chess Challenge website.

Chess logo


Please contact:

Andrew Davies  and  Traci Whitfield


Top of Page